2019 Tourism Achievement Awards

call for entries

Complete document can be downloaded here. Submission deadline is Friday, August 16th.

Marketing Award Categories

The submission categories for the marketing awards were revamped last year. The categories are listed below and details can be found here.

Marketing Award Submission FORM - Download here

1. Leisure Visitors

2. Meetings and Conventions

3. Group Visitors 

4. Community Stakeholders

Individual Award Nomination Forms

Destination Rising Star (DMANC)

One award given annually to a member bureau or staff member who has worked a total of 3 years or less in a North Carolina bureau and has made an immediate significant impact to his or her organization and to destination marketing in North Carolina. Nominations for CEO’s are made by DMANC members. Nominations for staff members are made by that bureau’s CEO. 


barentine special achievement (DMANC)

Named in honor of DMANC’s first president, Richard Barentine, this award is given annually to an individual who has demonstrated both significant service to DMANC in helping to achieve its mission and is recognized as a leader in tourism in North Carolina. Members should nominate deserving individuals from other bureaus, rather than self-nominate someone from their own organization. The current President of DMANC is not eligible for this award while serving his or her term. 


nctia public service award

NCTIA recognizes an individual or organization making a significant contribution to the promotion of travel to North Carolina that transcends personal gain. Any government agency, department, or government tax supported organization qualifies for this award.

nomination form

tourism excellence award for business organization

This award recognizes a business or organization that enhances the statewide promotion of travel to North Carolina. The primary effort may have been for the benefit of the business or organization but must have unquestionably and materially benefited travel promotion and/or development across the State of North Carolina.


tourism excellence award for Individual

This award recognizes an individual from the private sector who has performed an apparent service to the development and/or promotion of travel to North Carolina. That service must have transcended personal gain. No government official, government employee or government agency can be considered for this award.


charles kuralt award

The sole criteria for this award is to recognize an individual who brings exceptional, positive public attention to the State of North Carolina through some form of mass communication. As the award name suggests, preference is given to journalist or mass media communication specialists.


NC Visitor Attraction of the Year

This award recognizes a North Carolina visitor attraction that exemplifies excellence and sets the standard for an exceptional visitor experience. The successful nomination will include examples of community engagement, visitor interaction and a history of positive impact on visitation.